Fuck Off 2012! Welcome 20…OOF. Let’s Try That Again.

The theme for New Year’s Eve was “Fuck Off 2012.”

While there was a lot of good in 2012, it was mixed with a lot of hard times for me and other friends. It felt good to close that chapter and move on to a new year with new energy!

And then I got the flu. I’m an epidemiologist’s nightmare, picking up the flu in Colorado, flying in airplanes for a full day before depositing my virus-infested body in California. Which had been one of three states reporting minimal flu cases. And I was hoping to leave my “Typhoid Mary” status in 2012 …

So I’m raising my head again, midway through January. We’re calling those first two weeks a false start. Hello January! Hello New Year! I’m ready for this new energy to arrive!

As I turn my attention toward next week, I feel a little overwhelmed. I could promise to jump back in to all the things that I’ve had to put off, but I’m guessing my priority should be on getting healthy. What does this look like?

1. When in doubt, rest.

2. For the next 10 minutes I could goof off on Facebook, or I could get X done. (Especially when X is filled with regular chores I’ve been avoiding).

3. Play Clue. Not the murder mystery version, but my dorky life organizing version. Where there’s a room, a “weapon,” and a persona to channel. (It’s awesome. Everyone says so. Even though everyone also agrees it sounds even more dorky than my normal dork-tastic self-help productivity tricks.)

4. Remember that I have a limited number of spoons this week. Use them wisely.

One response to “Fuck Off 2012! Welcome 20…OOF. Let’s Try That Again.

  1. Pingback: What would Grandma say? | Off Trajectory

Leave a Reply

