Resting, Laughing, Loving, Settling

With a couple of weeks left before the new year and an intention to restart my regular check-ins, I’m here to find out: What do I want these last two weeks to include?

1. Rest deeply when I get the chance.

There will be a lot of work this upcoming week. I’ve worked too many days in a row already. When it’s time to rest, I want to do it fully. Turn off the work brain. Do things that nourish me: dance, legs up the wall, drink water, read, laugh with friends.

2. Notice the things worth smiling and laughing about.

I’m noticing a pattern where I’m always answering “How are you?” with one of three options: Busy, Frantic, or Working Too Much. I’m not wanting to just turn that off, as much of that is real in my experience right now. But I’m also wanting to notice the OTHER things that are also going on. And try out some different ways of answering that question.

3. Loving on my loved ones.

I get to visit some of my favorite folks next week. I want to make some plans with folks … first I need to tell them I’m coming! I also have a few more holiday gifts to find & send for my nephews.

4. Home office set up & functional.

It’s a little scary to be working from home again. I want my space set up so I can be sure to turn off the work brain when I’m done for the day. It will feel great to come back to my space being in order so I can transition into working from home as smoothly as possible.

—–

These things seem doable. The most concrete things are the home office set up and those presents for my nephews. Everything else is about trying out some new ways of being, or expanding the set of folks I’ll get to hang out with next week.

My shoulders relax a bit seeing that I haven’t made myself a 47 point to do list.

Leave a Reply

