A Quick September Wrap-Up

In July, I started sharing my Sunday ritual of monthly goal setting and the weekly or mid-month check-ins. I love that it gives me a way to notice how things are shifting in my life, and an excuse to check in and tell y’all about it.

SEPTEMBER Goals

1. More space

My altar is still doing its damnedest to hold some clear space in my apartment. As I got healthier, I’ve actually found it harder to keep my apartment clean and tidy. I’m just gone a lot more so I don’t notice the filth until I get home so exhausted I can’t do anything about it anyway. I am making a commitment to continue with the Creating Your Goddess Haven course. I was frustrated this month watching myself only make space for myself AFTER I got sick. It’s not a healthy pattern, and I’d like to switch it up some.

2. Clear lines between work time, play time, rest time (i.e. less time web surfing)

Despite my busy-ness, I’ve actually been doing a great job setting clear boundaries. Writing one of the hardest cover letters of my life has demanded large chunks of uninterrupted time as I wrote first a rant, then an essay, and now have something resembling a cover letter. I had to say no to some things I really wanted to do – two invites to soak, and one invite to drink some champagne with a friend I hadn’t seen in ages. I’ve also been ignoring some of my pile of short tasks in service to getting this cover letter out. It’s the right decision, but it’s hard to watch myself put things off.

3. Movement: Just do it.

I have been enjoying the Raising the Arms exercise from Qigong that Nina Wise taught at last weekend’s retreat. Since my arms hold so much tension and discomfort, it seems like they are always carrying some heaviness. This exercise lightens them up quite a bit, great preparation for sitting down and typing some more!

Much more going on this month internally, which I would love to write about once I get my cover letter completed.

OCTOBER Goals

1. Clear priorities for political campaigning.
2. Apply for fantastic jobs in San Francisco
3. Post some of the great writing I’ve been doing on the blogs
4. Maintain the things that sustain me – meditation, eating well, an organized house, and time with friends
2 responses to “A Quick September Wrap-Up

  1. I love that I happily stumbled onto your blog today. 🙂 I bookmarked it under “Fun Stuff: Friends” and was browsing through my list. Your voice, even when you are struggling or working through your own challenges, is such an inspiration and guiding light!

    Hope to see you soon!!

    Love and hugs,
    E

    • Aww, thanks dear! I’m needing the reminder today that my voice is necessary and important. Thanks for saying exactly what I need to hear!

      Sooooo needing a girls night out. Missing you!

Leave a Reply

