How do I want to be in the world? A mid-month check-in

Last month, I started sharing my Sunday ritual of monthly goal setting and the weekly check-ins. I’m trying mid-month reporting rather than weekly. This month I’m going to focus on three goals about how I want to be in the world.

August Goals

1. Be on an amazing adventure: This week, I told a whole bunch of new folks about my plans to move to San Francisco. Without fail, the first question is, “What are you going to do for work there?” For awhile I was trying to answer that question in detail, but it just kept me feeling “in limbo,” unsure what the next steps hold. This week, I just brushed that question aside and moved on to gushing about my opportunities, “I have a couple options, but I’m just not sure yet. But I’m moving to SAN FRANCISCO! I can’t wait for the people and the energy and the excitement!” It did wonders for my conversations and for my mood.

2. Build in time to rest and be satisfied, even when busy: I hit a couple of edges where I would start complaining to friends about my busy-ness, but caught myself before I went too far down that path. Internal self-talk: The important things are getting done. I’m spending time with people I love. Things are a little busy right now because I’m heading out of town most of the next couple of weeks. It’s okay to be extra busy in preparation for more rest next week.

When I let myself rest in this reality (rather than the reality of ZOMG I’M SO BUSY!), I find more time and space to write, to be with friends, to have the extra few minutes for someone, to take a walk, to just be.

I haven’t found the time yet to wash my dishes or clean the kitchen floor. LOL. I haven’t quite internalized how a clean house contributes to my feelings of peace.

3. Let go of the things that are not essential: So much learning last weekend about the power of letting go, of letting others step up to handle responsibilities they can more than handle. I managed a weekend meditation retreat for a solid and phenomenal group of people in their 20s and 30s.  Managing the retreat was perfect for me, because it helped me look at how much I just take on because it’s easier than asking for others to help. I was surrounded by generous spirits who just stepped in to help take out the trash, and helped with things they were actually more skilled at than I ever will be – like driving the Rhino (aka 4 wheel drive golf cart) or cleaning up spilled wax. The space around us was gorgeous and supportive and I spent the weekend leaning into the support and help of others and the world around me.

As soon as I returned, I felt compelled to break up again with my on-again, off-again beau. It has felt pretty final this week, though all my friends have said, “We’ll see how you feel next week before we’re sure about this one.” This relationship has been the struggle between two maxims:

  • “Good is the enemy of great. And that is one of the reasons that we have so little that becomes great. We don’t have great schools, principally because we have good schools. We don’t have great government, principally because we have good government. Few people attain great lives, precisely because it is easy to settle for a good life.” – Jim Collins in Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap … and Others Don’t
  • The Perfect is the Enemy of the Good – Voltaire. “It’s usually better to shoot for ‘good enough’ today than to aim for a perfect decision next week.” – Get Rich Slowly

Today I feel like my life is too full of great things, the best things – I don’t have much room for that which is good but not great.

Leave a Reply

