How are we doing? July 4th Check-in

In the spirit of sharing rituals, I thought I’d let you all in on my monthly goal setting and the weekly check-ins I do to see if I’m on track. As I go to post this, it feels a little bland, like I need to make this check-in into a chicken.  For now, I’ll trust that it will develop into something fabulous as we go. I’m trying to practice just starting things, rather than waiting until they are perfect. Here goes!

How did we do this week?

1. Be pro-active about negotiating job & housing. Feel great about my future story.

I talked with my boss about moving this job opportunity with me to SF. She thinks it’s a great idea! Many details to work out, but that possibility is open. On to housing. What I want: I’m happy to sign a lease through December 31, and then revert to month-to-month after that date. I would negotiate to a 6-month lease (through January 31) if necessary to keep my place. I’ve been a great tenant for the past 3 years, so I can’t imagine they’d want to get rid of me.

2. Focus on closing up past gigs, and only taking on new gigs that PAY WELL.

I did work to close up two of my projects, though I’m now waiting for them to get back to me. I’m noticing that I’m not the only one contributing to these projects lingering. What I want: Patience to let those projects percolate for the time they need without getting freaked out that they aren’t finished yet. Wisdom to know when to poke them back into action.

3. Get blogging services online

Done! Once the intention is there, that was actually rather simple. My brain is now thinking about updates and revisions to it. My next step here is to finish up a guest post for the Community Resource Center’s blog.

4. Pay attention to Fiscal Reform Committee regularly – get very focused on the next right steps

Reflecting on last week’s meetings where I dropped the ball on a couple things, I realized I need to be a lot more proactive, more confident, and go into meetings with more intention. Lunch with Ellen helped me get focused on the next right steps for coalition building. And I just took some actions that clearly needed to happen without stopping to consult with others first – setting up a key one-on-one meeting, contacting Coloradans for Responsible Reform, and agreeing to a presentation on July 20. Here we go! What I need: Time to think about organizational structures for our group, follow-up with several folks to set up a July meeting.

5. Make $900/week

I’m feeling the awkwardness of “It’s gauche to talk about how much money you make. Much less in a public forum!” Yet being off trajectory is about pushing back against some of these societal rules. My intention here is to track my mix of salary and freelance income so we can all better understand what it looks like to piece together enough income to pay the bills and enjoy life. I hit my goal for the first time in awhile, earning $1064 this week ($208 in freelance, $856 at my regular job).  Putting in 30+ hours at Haugen makes a big difference in my weekly pay! While I’ve been taking on freelance gigs for nearly equivalent pay to my regular job to develop my business, I need to move toward only the best freelance projects. I’m just not going to have the time if I move to 40 hours a week later this year.

6. Find a balance of movement, meditation, friendship, art, & laughter that supports my busy life

A great balance this week. A couple of hikes, 2 meditation talks,  phone & in person connections with several dear friends, writing on my blogs & the visual stimulation of a costume party, lots of laughter during it all. I found myself feeling confused when I had free time. I was shocked I didn’t have anything urgent that needed immediate attention, and it took me quite a few minutes to decide that I really truly was free to do what I wanted. I then wasn’t sure what to do – hike? yoga? call a friend? work on a non-urgent project? write a blog post? clean my house? I’d swirl around in the options for another 20 minutes, get on Facebook or email when I couldn’t land on anything, then get angry at myself for wasting precious time. There were just so many options, and I didn’t want to make the wrong decision!

On Friday, I had decided I needed some activity, but yoga or a hike? I finally just flipped a coin – heads, yoga; tails, hike. The Colorado Trail was beautiful, before the storm clouds gathered. I got back just before the fat drops of rain fell to rinse off my dusty car. What I need this week: To watch the stuckness around free time and choosing what to do with it. To dance Shiva Nata to see if it might help shift this pattern.

How are your goals & intentions going? What’s been good & not-so-good this week? What needs attention next week?

Leave a Reply

